Personal Care

Essential Oils in the Philippines: Four FDA-Notified Oils and the Best-Selling Listings That Are Not Essential Oils

Four FDA-notified Human Nature essential oils from official Shopee stores compared on ingredients, warnings and price per 100 mL, and why most best-selling essential oil listings are air fresheners.

Updated 13 min read4 products compared
Essential Oils in the Philippines (2026): Four FDA-Notified Oils and the Best-Selling Listings That Are Not Essential Oils
On this page 10 sections
  1. Our verdict
  2. What "essential oil" means on a Shopee listing
  3. Using essential oils safely
  4. What the claims on these listings actually mean
  5. Essential oil listings we would be careful with
  6. Our picks
  7. How to choose an essential oil
  8. How we researched this guide
  9. Frequently asked questions
  10. Related reading

WellnessPicks is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission from Shopee, Lazada or TikTok Shop, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. How we make money.

Our verdict

Most “essential oil” listings on Shopee are not essential oils, so we ranked only the four we could match to an FDA cosmetic notification and an official store: the Human Nature Tea Tree Oil sold by Watsons (82/100, ₱299 for 30 mL) and the Human Nature Peppermint Oil (81/100, ₱399). All four are carrier-diluted oils for skin, not oils for diffusers, and one notification ends in January 2027 and another on 28 November 2026.

The best-selling “essential oils” are water-based air fresheners and roll-on blends that say “FDA Approved” with no record we could find. Essential oils can irritate skin, harm pets and are not for everyone, so read the safety section. This is general information, not medical advice; ask a doctor or pharmacist about pregnancy, children, medicines or health conditions.

We searched the Shopee affiliate offer list and Shopee search for essential oils on October 16, 2026. The offer list and the best sellers are mostly unbranded cross-border oils, water-based fragrance liquids and roll-on blends. The oils from established brands such as doTERRA and Young Living are notified with the FDA (as are Melaleuca and Aura Cacia oils), but we found doTERRA and Young Living on Shopee only through resellers, and no Melaleuca or Aura Cacia listings, so the only brand we could verify end to end was Human Nature.

What “essential oil” means on a Shopee listing

TypeWhat it really isExample
Pure essential oilA plant oil, usually steam-distilled; very concentrated and not for use undiluted on skinSingle oils from small shops or brands, 5 to 15 mL
Carrier-diluted oilEssential oil blended into a base oil, so it is weaker and made for skinHuman Nature oils: caprylic/capric triglyceride plus the plant oil
Water-based “essential oil”A scented liquid sold as an air freshener or humidifier scent; the listing text calls it an air freshenerWater Based Essential Oil by Smelle-PH, 200K sold
Fragrance oilA manufactured scent, not a plant oil“Fragrance essential oil for aroma humidifier”, ₱27 to ₱160
Roll-on blendA pre-diluted blend in a carrier oil, made for skinRoll-ons marked “FDA Approved”
Read the ingredient list: plant names, a carrier oil, or “fragrance”.
Best choiceBest valueHuman Nature Natural Tea Tree Oil 30 mL (Watsons Official Store)Tea Tree Oil (Watsons)Human Nature Peppermint Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)Peppermint OilHuman Nature Tea Tree Oil Natural Essential Oil, Multi Purpose, 30 mL (Human Nature Official Store)Tea Tree Oil (Official Store)Human Nature Citronella Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)Citronella Oil
Score82/10081/10072/10066/100
Our rating4.14.13.63.3
Best forClearest directionsMassage, with warningsMost proven listingCheap scent, thin listing
Price₱299₱399₱299₱299
Size and price per 100 mL30 mL, ₱99730 mL, ₱1,33030 mL, ₱99730 mL, ₱997
FDA notificationNN-1000012245968NN-1000014205520NN-1000012245968NN-1000013732560
Valid to15 Jan 202716 Apr 202715 Jan 202728 Nov 2026
Ingredients printedYesYesKey ingredient only in the text we readYes
Warnings in the listingYesYes (pregnancy, blood pressure, epilepsy)None in the text we readNone
Ratings on listing4811,1894,705437
Listing problemStrength not statedSays 100% essential oil; carrier listedSays apply directly; skin claimsNo directions; expires soon
ShopWatsons Official Store (Mall)Human Nature Official Store (Mall)Human Nature Official Store (Mall)Human Nature Official Store (Mall)
BuyShopeeLazadaShopeeLazadaShopeeLazadaShopeeLazada
Prices and stock checked on October 16, 2026. FDA notification numbers were looked up in the FDA Philippines verification portal on October 16, 2026; a notification means the cosmetic was notified, not that the FDA tested it or approved any claim. We did not use any oil.

Using essential oils safely

These are general precautions, not medical advice and not a substitute for the label or a doctor.

  • Do not swallow them. Keep every bottle out of reach of children. If one is swallowed, get medical help.
  • Dilute before it touches skin, unless the label says it is already diluted, and patch test a small area first. Tea tree and peppermint can irritate skin when used strong.
  • Keep them away from eyes, the inside of the nose and broken skin.
  • Ask a doctor first if you are pregnant, have high blood pressure or epilepsy, take medicines, or have asthma or a skin condition. One listing here carries that warning; the others do not.
  • Be careful with babies and young children. Menthol-type oils such as peppermint are generally advised against near the face of young children, so ask a doctor or pharmacist.
  • Pets can be harmed. Tea tree and other oils can be dangerous to cats and dogs, so ask a vet before using oils around them.
  • Do not use them as medicine. A skin oil does not replace treatment for acne, fungal infection or any illness; see a doctor if it is not clearing.
  • Store in a cool, dark place with the cap on, and respect the shelf life.

What the claims on these listings actually mean

ClaimWhat it coversKey exclusion
“100% pure”, “undiluted”A seller statementNo test is shown; a carrier-diluted oil is not undiluted
“Therapeutic grade”, “CPTG”A brand marketing phraseNot a registration category; the FDA entries we looked up do not use it
“FDA Approved”A seller statementThe FDA notifies cosmetics, it does not approve them; check the exact name in the portal
“Antibacterial”, “disinfectant”A claim about killing germsA medicinal-type claim; check whether the product is registered for it, and note that a water-based freshener is not a disinfectant
“Relieve anxiety, improve insomnia”A health claimNo evidence is given; a scented spray is not a treatment
“100% natural”Plant-derived ingredientsNatural does not mean safe or undiluted
“Helps ease fungal skin concerns”A skin-care claim on an oilNot an approved treatment; see a doctor for a fungal infection
“Cold pressed from fresh fruit peels” on a lavender oilA production claimLavender oil is normally steam-distilled from flowers, so the text is wrong or copied
Claims found in the listings reviewed for this guide.

Essential oil listings we would be careful with

ProductWhat we foundOur check
Water-based “essential oil” air fresheners, ₱27 to ₱295, up to 200K soldSmelle-PH’s listing text calls its product an air freshener and room or linen spray, and Essentials & Beyond’s ticks “anti bacterial” and “disinfectant”. These are scented liquids, not essential oils, and no registration is shown.Not scored
Wowhappy roll-on blends and nasal inhaler, ₱59 to ₱249, 52K ratingsThe title says “FDA Approved”, and we found no FDA record under the Wowhappy name; the text says the Breathe blend is “known for its respiratory benefits”. Made in India; the shop is not a Mall store.Not scored
Greenika Botanika tea tree and lavender oils (Mall), ₱290 to ₱358The brand’s FDA notification “Greenika Enterprises TeaTree” (NN-1000016678979, valid to August 2027) does not name the oil, and we found nothing under Botanika. The lavender listing says the oil is “cold pressed from fresh fruit peels”.Not scored
Garden Lab Tea Tree Essential Oil (Mall), ₱148 to ₱352We found no FDA notification for Garden Lab. The text says the pure oil must be diluted, but the ready-to-use versions claim to treat pimples, rashes, insect bites and ear piercings.Not scored
Young Living oils from a small reseller, ₱495 to ₱1,054The brand has FDA notifications, but the shop (young_living_store, not a Mall store, 3.9K followers) is a reseller, and its listing shows a crossed-out price of ₱2,580.Not scored; buy through the brand’s own channel
doTERRA oils from resellersdoTERRA Philippines has FDA notifications, but we found no official doTERRA store on Shopee, only resellers and cross-border listings.Not scored
Thursday Plantation tea tree oil from resale shops, ₱533 to ₱900FDA Advisory 2021-2587 named a different Thursday Plantation product, a Tea Tree Medicated Gel, as an unauthorized cosmetic; the oil listings come from resale shops, not the brand’s store.Not scored
Lavender “sleep” sprays, ₱89 to ₱113, 40K soldA Shopee Choice Global listing claiming to relieve anxiety and improve insomnia.Not scored
Medicated and herbal “healing” oils, linimentsProducts with medicinal claims; outside this guide.Outside this guide
Read the ingredient list, the shop and the exact name in the FDA portal before buying.

Our picks

Human Nature Natural Tea Tree Oil 30 mL (Watsons Official Store)

82/100

4.1

Best documented: clear directions and warnings

1. Human Nature Natural Tea Tree Oil 30 mL (Watsons Official Store)

ShopeeLazada

Exact FDA notification

Ingredients and warnings printed

Diluted-use directions

About ₱997 per 100 mL

FDA statusHuman Nature Natural Tea Tree Oil (Gandang Kalikasan, Inc.), cosmetic notification NN-1000012245968, valid to 15 January 2027; no FDA advisory names this product
Specifications statedIngredients: caprylic/capric triglyceride (coconut-derived) and tea tree (Melaleuca alternifolia) essential oil; directions to dab diluted oil on a blemish after washing; keep below 30 C and out of sunlight; avoid the eye area; do not swallow; keep out of reach of children; shelf life 360 days; made in the Philippines
Claims“Antimicrobial properties”; “popular for treating acne, cutting down odor and fighting germs on skin”
MissingThe percentage of tea tree oil in the carrier is not stated
SellerWatsons Official Store (Shopee Mall): joined 2018, 7.18M followers; 4.90 stars from 481 ratings on this listing, 1K+ sold
Price₱299 for 30 mL, about ₱997 per 100 mL

The best-documented oil here: an exact FDA notification, the full ingredient list, directions that say to dilute, and warnings about eyes, swallowing and children, sold by the Watsons Mall store.

It is a tea tree oil blended into a carrier oil, not the pure oil, and the strength is not stated. The notification runs only to January 2027, so check the date on the box. “Treating acne” and “fighting germs” are the brand’s claims, not something we can confirm.

Why it scored well

  • Exact FDA notification; ingredients and warnings printed
  • Directions say to use it diluted and keep it from the eyes
  • Watsons Official Store; 360-day shelf life stated

Watch-outs

  • Notification valid only to 15 January 2027
  • Tea tree strength in the carrier is not stated
  • “Treating acne” and “fighting germs” are brand claims
Human Nature Peppermint Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)

81/100

4.1

Best for massage, with a pregnancy and health warning

2. Human Nature Peppermint Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)

ShopeeLazada

Exact FDA notification

Ingredients printed

Health warning stated

About ₱1,330 per 100 mL

FDA statusHuman Nature Natural Peppermint Oil (Gandang Kalikasan, Inc.), NN-1000014205520, valid to 16 April 2027; no FDA advisory found
Specifications statedIngredients: caprylic/capric triglyceride, Mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, Mentha arvensis (corn mint) leaf oil; apply 2 to 3 drops and massage in; “if you are pregnant, have hypertension or have epilepsy, consult your physician before using essential oils”
Claims“Refreshing cooling sensation”; “100% natural peppermint essential oil”
InconsistenciesThe text says 100% natural peppermint essential oil, while the ingredient list shows a carrier oil and a second mint oil
SellerHuman Nature Official Store (Shopee Mall): joined 2021, 561K followers; 4.95 stars from 1,189 ratings on this listing, 4K+ sold
Price₱399 for 30 mL, about ₱1,330 per 100 mL

The only listing that names who should ask a doctor first: pregnancy, high blood pressure and epilepsy. It has an exact notification, a printed ingredient list and 1,189 ratings.

It is the dearest per 100 mL of the four. “100% natural peppermint essential oil” is looser than the ingredient list, which includes a carrier and a second mint oil. Keep it away from the face of young children and from eyes.

Why it scored well

  • Exact notification valid to April 2027
  • Names who should ask a doctor first
  • Ingredient list and directions printed

Watch-outs

  • About ₱1,330 per 100 mL, the dearest here
  • “100% essential oil” wording vs a carrier-diluted product
  • Not for young children or the face without advice
Human Nature Tea Tree Oil Natural Essential Oil, Multi Purpose, 30 mL (Human Nature Official Store)

72/100

3.6

Most proven, but the directions are the loosest

3. Human Nature Tea Tree Oil Natural Essential Oil, Multi Purpose, 30 mL (Human Nature Official Store)

ShopeeLazada

Exact FDA notification

4.7K ratings

10K+ sold

About ₱997 per 100 mL

FDA statusHuman Nature Natural Tea Tree Oil NN-1000012245968, valid to 15 January 2027 (the same notification as the Watsons listing)
Specifications stated30 mL; shelf life 24 months; for skin, scalp and body; “apply a few drops directly to the desired area or mix with Human Nature shampoo”; foot care between the toes
Claims“Helps care for blemish-prone skin”; “helps ease fungal skin concerns”; “down on acne and body odor”; “anti aging”
InconsistenciesThe Watsons listing for the same oil says shelf life 360 days and gives diluted-use directions and warnings; this one says 24 months, “apply directly”, and shows no warnings in the text we read
SellerHuman Nature Official Store (Shopee Mall): joined 2021, 561K followers; 4.93 stars from 4,705 ratings on this listing, 10K+ sold
Price₱299 for 30 mL (the other option is a bundle at ₱633), about ₱997 per 100 mL

The best-selling listing, from the brand’s own store, for the same notified oil as the Watsons listing.

It says to apply a few drops directly and lists skin claims, including “helps ease fungal skin concerns” and “anti aging”, that a tea tree oil listing should not make. It shows no warnings in the text, and its shelf life differs from the Watsons listing. Use the Watsons directions: dilute it and keep it from the eyes.

Why it scored well

  • 4.7K ratings; 10K+ sold; brand’s own store
  • Exact notification (valid to January 2027)
  • Same price as the Watsons listing

Watch-outs

  • “Apply directly” and no warnings in the listing text
  • Skin claims such as “ease fungal skin concerns”
  • Shelf life differs from the Watsons listing
Human Nature Citronella Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)

66/100

3.3

Notification runs out in six weeks

4. Human Nature Citronella Oil 30 mL, Natural Essential Oil (Human Nature Official Store)

ShopeeLazada

Exact FDA notification

Valid to 28 Nov 2026

Two-line listing

About ₱997 per 100 mL

FDA statusHuman Nature Natural Citronella Oil (Gandang Kalikasan, Inc.), NN-1000013732560, valid to 28 November 2026, about six weeks from our check
Specifications statedIngredients: caprylic/capric triglyceride and Cymbopogon winterianus (citronella) leaf oil; 30 mL
Claims“Masks your skin’s natural scent”; “antibacterial properties that help deodorize and refresh feet”
MissingNo directions, no warnings, no shelf life
SellerHuman Nature Official Store (Shopee Mall): 561K followers; 4.92 stars from 437 ratings on this listing, 1K+ sold
Price₱299 for 30 mL, about ₱997 per 100 mL

An exact notification and the brand’s own store, but a two-line listing with no directions or warnings, and the notification ends on 28 November 2026.

It is a notified cosmetic, not a registered mosquito repellent, and the listing does not claim to repel insects. If you want a repellent, see our mosquito repellent guide. Check the date on the box, and ask the store whether the notification has been renewed.

Why it scored well

  • Exact notification and the brand’s own store
  • Ingredients printed
  • Same price per 100 mL as the tea tree oil

Watch-outs

  • Notification valid to 28 November 2026 only
  • No directions or warnings in the listing
  • Not a mosquito repellent

How to choose an essential oil

  • Decide what it is for. A skin or massage oil should be notified with the FDA; an oil for a diffuser or humidifier is a different product, and the ones we ranked are made for skin.
  • Read the ingredient list. Plant names and a carrier oil mean an oil; “fragrance” or “water” mean a scented liquid.
  • Look up the exact product in the FDA verification portal and check the validity date.
  • Read the directions and warnings. A listing with no directions and no warnings is a poor sign.
  • Ignore “therapeutic grade” and “pure” as proof, and treat health claims as marketing.
  • Buy from the brand’s own store or a major retailer’s official store, not a reseller of an imported brand.
  • Compare the price per 100 mL, and check the size you are buying.
  • Ask a doctor or vet first if it will be near pregnancy, children, pets or a medical condition.

How we researched this guide

We searched the Shopee affiliate offer list and Shopee search for essential oils on October 16, 2026, identified the shop behind each candidate (Mall status, years on Shopee, followers, ratings), read the listings in full and looked each brand up in the FDA Philippines verification portal and its advisories. We scored four with our published rubric: FDA status and provenance (25), disclosure (20), claims (20), consistency (10), seller record (15) and value (10). We did not use any oil.

The safety advice is general and was not taken from a study we reviewed. This guide is general information, not medical advice. It has not yet been reviewed by our health content reviewer, and we have not checked the Shopee affiliate programme’s rules for this category. You can suggest a product below.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best essential oil in the Philippines?

Of the four we could verify, the Human Nature Tea Tree Oil sold by Watsons (82/100) and the Human Nature Peppermint Oil (81/100) are the best documented. Both are carrier-diluted oils for skin, not pure oils or oils for diffusers.

Are essential oils FDA approved?

No. The FDA notifies cosmetics but does not approve them. A notification number means the product was notified, and you can look it up in the FDA portal.

Is "water-based essential oil" a real essential oil?

No. The listings we read describe it as an air freshener or humidifier scent, not a plant oil.

Can I put these oils in a diffuser?

The Human Nature oils are notified for skin and blended into a carrier oil. The listings do not say to diffuse them, so we would not.

Can I put tea tree oil straight on skin?

Undiluted tea tree oil can irritate skin. The Watsons listing says to dilute it, and the Official Store listing says to apply directly; we would follow the dilution advice and patch test first.

Are essential oils safe in pregnancy or for children?

Ask a doctor first. The peppermint listing says to consult a physician if you are pregnant or have hypertension or epilepsy.

Are essential oils safe around pets?

Some, including tea tree, can be harmful to cats and dogs. Ask a vet.

What does "therapeutic grade" mean?

It is a marketing phrase, not a registration category, and the FDA entries we looked up do not use it.

Does citronella oil repel mosquitoes?

The Human Nature Citronella Oil is a notified cosmetic and its listing makes no repellent claim. A repellent needs its own registration; see our mosquito repellent guide.

Why are doTERRA and Young Living not ranked?

Both have FDA notifications, but we found them on Shopee only through resellers, not official stores.

Reader reactions

How did this guide leave you?

Tap one. It takes a second and helps other readers.

One reaction per guide. Comments are personal experiences, not medical advice, and are read before they appear. Please leave out links and personal details. We do not ask for your email or store your IP address.

Spotted a problem with a product or link?

Know a product we should look at?Suggest one for this guide. We read every suggestion. + Suggest a product

Sending a suggestion does not guarantee a review or a ranking, and nobody can pay for placement. Anything we add is scored with our published rubric.

Please do not include personal details. We do not store your IP address. If you give an email we delete it after 90 days, and we delete every suggestion after 180 days.

More buying guides

See all