Fitness & Nutrition

Best Sugar-Free Snacks in the Philippines: Gullon, IKO and Hao Cacao Compared on FDA Record, Sweeteners and Price per 100 g

Five sugar-free biscuits and chocolates compared on FDA food records, ingredients, sweeteners and price per 100 g, with the listings to avoid.

Updated 12 min read5 products compared
Best Sugar-Free Snacks in the Philippines: Gullon, IKO and Hao Cacao Compared on FDA Record, Sweeteners and Price per 100 g
On this page 11 sections
  1. Our verdict
  2. What "sugar free" does and does not mean
  3. What the FDA record means for packaged snacks
  4. What the claims on these listings actually mean
  5. Sugar-free snack listings we would be careful with
  6. How to choose a sugar-free snack from these listings
  7. Our picks
  8. How to choose and buy sugar-free snacks on Shopee
  9. How we researched this guide
  10. Frequently asked questions
  11. Related reading

WellnessPicks is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission from Shopee, Lazada or TikTok Shop, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. How we make money.

Our verdict

Gullon Sugar Free Digestive (82/100, ₱42.00 per 100 g) is our pick: an exact FDA food record valid to 2031, a full ingredient list and the lowest price per 100 g. Gullon Maria (81, ₱55.00) is nearly as good, IKO crackers (72, ₱117.98) are the savoury option, and the Gullon Chip Choco (64) and Hao Cacao chocolate (59, ₱300.00) have thin listings.

“Sugar free” means no sugar was added, not that a snack has no carbohydrate or calories: all the biscuits here use sugar alcohols (maltitol, isomalt) and none of the listings gives a nutrition table. We cannot say any of these suits a person with diabetes. Talk to your doctor or dietitian about snacks and portions. This is general information, not medical advice, and we ranked no medicine, supplement or special-purpose formula.

We searched Shopee for sugar-free biscuits, chocolate, candy, gum and “diabetic” snacks on October 27, 2026, read each finalist listing and shop record, and looked the brands up in the FDA Philippines food register. Only products with a matching FR- record and an identifiable brand were ranked. Unbranded “diabetic” trail mixes and vegetable biscuits, imports and look-alike sellers went into the “careful with” table.

₱42.00 to ₱300.00

Price per 100 g of the five ranked snacks on 27 October 2026, from our calculation: Gullon digestive ₱42.00, Gullon Maria ₱55.00, Gullon Chip Choco ₱88.00, IKO crackers ₱117.98 and Hao Cacao chocolate ₱300.00.

Best choiceBest valueGullon Sugar Free Digestive Biscuits 400 g (Dygen Food)Gullon DigestiveGullon Sugar Free Maria Biscuits 200 g (Dygen Food)Gullon MariaIKO Sugar Free Oatmeal Crackers 178 g (GSPDI)IKO CrackersGullon Sugar Free Chip Choco Cookies 125 g (Dygen Food)Gullon Chip ChocoHao Cacao 70% Sugar-Free Dark-Chili Chocolate (Hao Cacao)Hao Cacao
Score82/10081/10072/10064/10059/100
Our rating4.14.13.63.23.0
Best forBest valuePlain tea biscuitSavoury crackerChocolate chip cookieDark chocolate
FDA food recordFR-4000015111399 (to Feb 2031)FR-4000015056904 (to Sep 2030)FR-4000012787269, Original only (to Jun 2029)FR-4000015125969 (to Jan 2031)FR-4000015301583 (to Nov 2028)
Sweetener statedIsomalt, maltitolMaltitolIsomaltNot statedMonk fruit
Ingredients listedYesYesPartly (grains)NoNo
Allergens statedMilk, soya tracesSesame, milk, soyaGluten, soybean tracesNoNo
Nutrition tableNoNoNoNoNo
Pack400 g200 g178 g125 g65 g
Price₱168₱110₱210₱110₱195
Per 100 g₱42.00₱55.00₱117.98₱88.00₱300.00
SellerDygen Food (regular, 2020)Dygen Food (regular, 2020)GSPDI (regular, 2020)Dygen Food (regular, 2020)Hao Cacao (own shop, 2019)
Ratings (listing)4.9 from 2,5694.9 from 1,8654.9 from 4954.9 from 3,0304.9 from 96
Listing problemNo nutrition tableMaltitol not explainedOnly 1 of 5 variants matchedNo ingredients at all65 g vs 75 g; no ingredients
BuyShopeeLazadaShopeeLazadaShopeeLazadaShopeeLazadaShopeeLazada
Prices and stock checked on October 27, 2026. Price per 100 g is our calculation from the price and pack weight. Ratings and sold counts are the figures Shopee showed that day. “Not stated” means the listing text did not say. We did not use or test any product.

What “sugar free” does and does not mean

These points come from reading the listings and are General information, not medical advice.

  • “Sugar free” tells you sugar was not added. The biscuits here replace it with sugar alcohols (maltitol, isomalt) and the chocolate with monk fruit. Sugar alcohols still contain carbohydrate and calories, and some people find large amounts upset the stomach.
  • None of the five listings gives a nutrition table, a serving size or a carbohydrate figure, so you cannot compare snacks on the number that matters for blood sugar. The pack label should show it.
  • A product registered with the FDA as a food has no approved therapeutic claim. A “sugar-free” biscuit is not a treatment for diabetes, and the listings should not say it is.
  • People who manage diabetes should ask their doctor or dietitian how snacks fit their plan, rather than relying on the word “diabetic” on a listing.

What the FDA record means for packaged snacks

These points are from the FDA Philippines verification portal.

  • Packaged foods are registered with FR- numbers and a validity date. We matched each listing’s brand and product name to the register.
  • Gullon, IKO and Hao Cacao have matching records. Gullon’s are registered to Dyna Drug Corporation, so we could not confirm that the shop selling it is the registered distributor.
  • A record is for a named product and flavour. IKO’s listing sells five variants and we found a record for the Original only.
  • We found no record by name for Keto Kusina, Perfect Match or a Hao Cacao mint bar. The portal returns only the first matches for a name, so a missing entry is not proof that none exists.

What the claims on these listings actually mean

ClaimWhat it coversWhat the listing does not say
“Sugar free” (Gullon, IKO, Hao Cacao)No added sugarTotal carbohydrate, calories or the effect on blood sugar
“High in fibre”, “source of fibre”A fibre content statementThe grams of fibre per serving
“Dietary fibre can slow digestion and extend sensation of fullness” (IKO)A general fibre statementNo source or amount
“The health benefits of this” (Gullon Chip Choco)Nothing specificWhich benefits, or any evidence
“Vegan and keto friendly” (Hao Cacao)A diet labelNet carbohydrate figure or certification
“Wants to avoid diabetes? Why not try our sugar-free products?” (another seller)A disease-prevention claimAny evidence; a food cannot make this claim
Claims found in the listings reviewed for this guide on October 27, 2026. We describe them; we do not endorse them.

Sugar-free snack listings we would be careful with

ProductWhat we foundOur check
Diabetasol Sugar Diet Wafers (loko_moko.ph, ₱261 for 100 g)Diabetasol has a wafer registered as a “supplementary snack for dietary use” (FR-4000009102422, to 21 Sep 2027), but this listing is from a shop with 86 followers that adds shipping to the price and says “unboxing video is mandatory”.Not scored: unofficial reseller
Diabetamil sugar-free cookies (Secshen Online, ₱459)The brand has registered cookies (FR-4000014630813, to 16 Jul 2028), but the listing asks “wants to avoid diabetes?” and says the price is ₱399 while charging ₱459.Not scored: disease claim and inconsistent price
Lotte Zero sugar-free biscuits and bars (wawastore.ph, ₱170 to ₱780, “Direct from Japan”)Lotte Zero products are registered in the Philippines through local importers, but this is a Japan-sourced import from a shop that opened in 2023.Not scored: cross-border import
Keto Kusina chocolate bars (Little Retail PH, ₱103, 20,000 sold)A popular local brand with a large shop, but we found no registry record under that name.Not scored: no matching record
“Diabetic Trail Mix” nuts and fruit (₱166 to ₱449; up to 40,000 sold)Unbranded mixes with “Diabetic” in the title. The word is a disease claim, and dried fruit and sweetened mixes vary in sugar.Not scored: no brand, no record
Sugar-free vegetable biscuits and herbal cookies (₱79 to ₱159)Unbranded sets with no registration number or ingredient information.Not scored: no brand, no record
Gullon from hotlistings_ph (₱168, 10,000 sold)The same products from a reseller that joined in May 2024 and lists 183,311 items.Not scored: buy from a long-standing shop
“Diabetic” milk powders (Glucerna, Diabetasol, Nutren Diabetes, Glufarelin)Special-purpose formulas used under medical advice.Not ranked: outside this guide (formula hold)
Listings reviewed on October 27, 2026. The FDA portal returns only the first matches for a name, so a missing entry is not proof that none exists.

How to choose a sugar-free snack from these listings

For protein-focused snacks see our protein bars guide; for rice swaps see our low-sugar rice cooker guide.

  • Want the best value: Gullon Sugar Free Digestive at ₱42.00 per 100 g.
  • Want a plain tea biscuit: Gullon Maria, in a smaller 200 g pack.
  • Want something savoury: IKO Original oatmeal crackers, and pick the Original variant we matched.
  • Want chocolate: Hao Cacao Dark-Chili from the brand’s own shop, and expect to pay much more per 100 g.
  • Read the pack for the nutrition table, sweeteners and allergens, since none of the listings shows the table.

General advice, not from the sources above: eat sugar-free snacks in the portion the pack suggests, drink water and watch for stomach upset from sugar alcohols. If you take medicine for diabetes, do not change your plan because of a snack; ask your doctor.

Our picks

Gullon Sugar Free Digestive Biscuits 400 g (Dygen Food)

82/100

4.1

Best value: exact registry match at ₱42 per 100 g

1. Gullon Sugar Free Digestive Biscuits 400 g (Dygen Food)

ShopeeLazada

Gullon Digestive

FR-4000015111399

₱42.00 per 100 g

2,569 ratings

FDA statusExact match: Gullon “Digestive Biscuits – Wholemeal Biscuit Sugar Free With Sweetener”, FR-4000015111399, Dyna Drug Corporation, valid to 3 February 2031. We could not confirm that the shop is the registered distributor.
Ingredients statedWhole wheat flour, sweeteners (isomalt and maltitol), high-oleic sunflower oil, oligofructose, raising agents, salt; may contain traces of milk and soya
Claims“Sugar free”; “high in fibre”
MissingNutrition table, serving size, carbohydrate and calorie figures
SellerDygen Food (regular shop since July 2020, 7,682 followers, 4.91 shop rating, 67% response). Listing 4.9 from about 2,569 ratings; search shows 10,000 sold.
Price₱168 for 400 g on 27 October 2026, ₱42.00 per 100 g

The cheapest per 100 g of the five, with an exact name match on the FDA food register and a full ingredient list, including the sweeteners.

It is sold by a regular shop, not the importer’s named store, and the listing gives no nutrition table or carbohydrate number, so “sugar free” tells you only that sugar is not an ingredient.

Why it scored well

  • Exact FDA name match, valid to 2031
  • Full ingredient list incl. sweeteners
  • Lowest price per 100 g (₱42.00)

Watch-outs

  • No nutrition table or carbohydrate figure
  • Contains sugar alcohols (isomalt, maltitol)
  • Regular shop, 67% response rate
Gullon Sugar Free Maria Biscuits 200 g (Dygen Food)

81/100

4.1

Plain tea biscuit, two valid records

2. Gullon Sugar Free Maria Biscuits 200 g (Dygen Food)

ShopeeLazada

Gullon Maria

FR-4000015056904

₱55.00 per 100 g

1,865 ratings

FDA statusExact match: Gullon “Biscuits Sugar Free” (Maria), FR-4000015056904, valid to 24 September 2030, and “Maria Cookies Sugar Free”, FR-4000015060053, valid to 8 September 2030, both Dyna Drug Corporation.
Ingredients statedWheat flour, sweetener (maltitol), high-oleic sunflower oil, vegetable fibre, raising agents, salt, soya lecithin, flavourings, sodium metabisulphite; may contain sesame and milk
Claims“Sugar free”; “source of fibre”
MissingNutrition table, serving size, carbohydrate figure
SellerDygen Food (regular shop since July 2020, 7,682 followers, 4.91 shop rating, 67% response). Listing 4.9 from about 1,865 ratings; search shows 8,000 sold.
Price₱110 for 200 g on 27 October 2026, ₱55.00 per 100 g

A plain biscuit with two valid food records, a full ingredient list with the allergens named, and a small pack that costs ₱110.

Like the digestive, it gives no nutrition table, and it contains maltitol, a sugar alcohol that the listing does not explain. The small pack is ₱13 per 100 g dearer than the 400 g digestive.

Why it scored well

  • Two FDA records, valid to 2030
  • Allergen traces and ingredients listed
  • ₱110 for a 200 g pack

Watch-outs

  • No nutrition table or carbohydrate figure
  • Maltitol is not explained
  • Regular shop, 67% response
IKO Sugar Free Oatmeal Crackers 178 g (GSPDI)

72/100

3.6

Cracker alternative: oat-based, five variants

3. IKO Sugar Free Oatmeal Crackers 178 g (GSPDI)

ShopeeLazada

IKO Original

FR-4000012787269

₱117.98 per 100 g

495 ratings

FDA statusMatch for the Original variant: IKO “Sugar Free Oatmeal Crackers – Original”, FR-4000012787269, Global Strategic Partners Distribution Inc., valid to 7 June 2029. We did not find records for the 9 Grains, Oat Bran, Pumpkin or Digestive variants the listing also sells.
Ingredients statedIsomalt as sweetener; the 9 Grains variant lists flax, purple wheat, rye, triticale, barley, millet, sesame, spelt and quinoa; contains gluten (wheat and oats), may contain soybean
Claims“Source of dietary fibre”; “dietary fibre can slow digestion and extend sensation of fullness”; “aids digestive system”
MissingNutrition table, serving size, carbohydrate figure
SellerGSPDI (regular shop since October 2020, 4,648 followers, 4.91 shop rating, 50% response). Listing 4.9 from about 495 ratings; search shows 3,000 sold.
Price₱210 for 178 g on 27 October 2026, ₱117.98 per 100 g

A savoury oat cracker with the gluten warning stated and the grains named, from a shop whose name matches the registered distributor.

Only the Original is matched to a registration, the fibre claims have no source, and at ₱117.98 per 100 g it costs nearly three times the Gullon digestive.

Why it scored well

  • Gluten and soy warnings stated
  • Original variant registered to 2029
  • Isomalt named as the sweetener

Watch-outs

  • Only 1 of 5 variants matched to a record
  • ₱117.98 per 100 g
  • Fibre claims have no source
Gullon Sugar Free Chip Choco Cookies 125 g (Dygen Food)

64/100

3.2

Most-reviewed, thinnest listing

4. Gullon Sugar Free Chip Choco Cookies 125 g (Dygen Food)

ShopeeLazada

Gullon Chip Choco

FR-4000015125969

₱88.00 per 100 g

3,030 ratings

FDA statusMatch: Gullon “Chip Choco Sin Gluten Sin Azucares”, FR-4000015125969, valid to 26 January 2031, and “Chocolate Chip Cookies – Sugar Free”, FR-4000008059440, valid to 23 March 2031, both Dyna Drug Corporation.
Claims“Sugar-free biscuits with chocolate chips that are a source of fibre”; “the health benefits of this”
MissingIngredients, sweetener, allergens, nutrition table
SellerDygen Food (regular shop since July 2020, 7,682 followers, 4.91 shop rating, 67% response). Listing 4.9 from about 3,030 ratings; search shows 10,000 sold.
Price₱110 for 125 g on 27 October 2026, ₱88.00 per 100 g

The best-reviewed of the Gullon listings, and the registry confirms both the name and a gluten-free, no-added-sugar record.

The listing itself tells you almost nothing: no ingredients, no sweetener, no allergens, and a vague line about “health benefits”. Read the pack for sweeteners and allergens.

Why it scored well

  • Two FDA records, valid to 2031
  • 3,030 ratings at 4.9
  • Registry says gluten free and no added sugar

Watch-outs

  • No ingredient or allergen list
  • “Health benefits” not explained
  • ₱88.00 per 100 g
Hao Cacao 70% Sugar-Free Dark-Chili Chocolate (Hao Cacao)

59/100

3.0

Philippine bean-to-bar brand with a matching record

5. Hao Cacao 70% Sugar-Free Dark-Chili Chocolate (Hao Cacao)

ShopeeLazada

Hao Cacao Dark-Chili

FR-4000015301583

₱300.00 per 100 g

Monk fruit

FDA statusExact match: Hao Cacao “70% Dark-Chili Sugar Free Couverture Chocolate”, FR-4000015301583, Hao Cacao Chocolate Processing, valid to 19 November 2028.
Specifications stated70% cacao, sweetened with monk fruit, real red habanero chili; 16 g, 35 g and 65 g sizes (title) or 19 g, 38 g and 75 g (description)
Claims“Vegan and keto friendly”
MissingIngredient list, nutrition table, allergens
SellerHao Cacao (the brand’s own shop since March 2019, 3,181 followers, 4.90 shop rating, 30% response). Listing 4.9 from about 96 ratings; search shows 357 sold.
Price₱195 for the 65 g size on 27 October 2026, ₱300.00 per 100 g (₱55 for 16 g, ₱103 for 35 g)

A Philippine chocolate maker’s own shop, with a registry record that matches this exact flavour and a named sweetener (monk fruit).

The weights do not agree (65 g in the title, 75 g in the description), no ingredient list is given and it is the dearest per 100 g by a wide margin.

Why it scored well

  • Exact FDA record, valid to 2028
  • Monk fruit named as the sweetener
  • The brand’s own shop

Watch-outs

  • ₱300.00 per 100 g, the highest
  • Weight in title and description disagree
  • No ingredient list; 30% response

How to choose and buy sugar-free snacks on Shopee

  • Pick products with an FR- registration that matches the brand and the exact flavour.
  • Buy from the brand’s own shop or a long-standing shop; skip unbranded “diabetic” mixes.
  • Compare the price per 100 g, not the price per pack (₱42.00 to ₱300.00 here).
  • Check the pack for the nutrition table, sweeteners and allergens, because most listings omit them.
  • Avoid listings that promise to prevent or treat diabetes.
  • Ask your doctor or dietitian how snacks fit your plan.

How we researched this guide

We searched Shopee for sugar-free biscuits, chocolate, candy, gum, cookies, diabetic snacks and low-sugar snacks on October 27, 2026 and read each finalist listing and shop record through Shopee. We looked each brand up in the FDA Philippines verification portal (food registrations) and recorded the FR- numbers and validity dates. We scored each product with our published rubric: provenance and registration (25), disclosure (20), claims (20), consistency (10), seller record (15) and value (10). We did not use or test any product.

This guide is general information, not medical advice. We cannot say any snack is suitable for a person with diabetes. We could not verify any seller’s stock, expiry date or packaging, or confirm that a shop is the registered distributor. This guide has not yet been reviewed by our health content reviewer, and we have not checked the Shopee affiliate programme’s rules for this category.

Frequently asked questions

Are sugar-free biscuits safe for people with diabetes?

We cannot say. "Sugar free" means no sugar was added, but the biscuits still contain carbohydrate and sugar alcohols. Ask your doctor or dietitian.

Are Gullon sugar-free biscuits FDA registered in the Philippines?

Yes. We found FR- records for the Digestive (FR-4000015111399, to 3 February 2031), Maria (FR-4000015056904, to 24 September 2030) and Chip Choco (FR-4000015125969, to 26 January 2031), registered to Dyna Drug Corporation.

What are maltitol and isomalt?

Sugar alcohols used as sweeteners. They contain carbohydrate and calories, and some people get stomach upset from large amounts.

Which sugar-free snack is cheapest per 100 g?

Gullon Sugar Free Digestive at ₱42.00 per 100 g on 27 October 2026, then Gullon Maria at ₱55.00.

Why not rank "diabetic trail mix"?

The mixes are unbranded and the word "diabetic" in a food title is a disease claim. We could not look up a brand or a registration.

Why are diabetic milks not included?

They are special-purpose formulas used under medical advice, which are outside this guide.

Did you test these snacks?

No. We read the listings, checked the shops and the FDA portal, and scored what the sellers put in writing.

Reader reactions

How did this guide leave you?

Tap one. It takes a second and helps other readers.

One reaction per guide. Comments are personal experiences, not medical advice, and are read before they appear. Please leave out links and personal details. We do not ask for your email or store your IP address.

Spotted a problem with a product or link?

Know a product we should look at?Suggest one for this guide. We read every suggestion. + Suggest a product

Sending a suggestion does not guarantee a review or a ranking, and nobody can pay for placement. Anything we add is scored with our published rubric.

Please do not include personal details. We do not store your IP address. If you give an email we delete it after 90 days, and we delete every suggestion after 180 days.

More buying guides

See all