WellnessPicks is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission from Shopee or TikTok Shop, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. How we make money.
Our verdict
No kojic soap scored above 49 out of 100, and we would not call any of them a strong buy. Of the listings that passed our checks, the best of a weak field is Skin Luxuriant Kojic Soap with Collagen (49/100): exact product notified with the FDA, no advisory found, sold by the brand’s own store.
The soap is the least of it. The FDA has issued more than 170 advisories and notices that mention kojic, Many are against soaps that were not properly notified. Check the exact product before you buy, never buy unlabelled “scrap” soap, and if you have melasma, see a dermatologist.
Kojic soap is rinsed off after a minute or two, and we found no clinical trial of any kojic acid soap. The evidence for kojic acid is for leave-on creams at 1 to 2 percent, over months.
Kojic acid is a skin-lightening ingredient made by fermenting rice, and kojic soap is one of the best-selling products on Shopee: bars for ₱35 and tubs of cut soap sold by the kilo. It is also one of the most-warned-about. When we searched the FDA Philippines record for “kojic”, it returned 681 notified cosmetics and 177 advisories and notices. In October 2026 alone the FDA warned against six kojic soaps from one brand, Maria Lourdes Heaven Soap.
177
FDA Philippines advisories and notices mention kojic, many of them warnings against kojic soaps that were not notified.
| Skin Luxuriant | Her Choice | |
|---|---|---|
| Score | 49/100 | 39/100 |
| Our rating | ||
| Best for | Basics checked | Safe-use advice |
| Kojic ingredient | Not stated | Kojic dipalmitate |
| Ingredients listed | No | Partly |
| Seller | Brand’s own store | Reseller |
| FDA no. in listing | No | No |
| Price per gram | ₱0.67 | ₱1.10 |
| Shop | Check price | Check price |
What kojic acid actually does
Kojic acid slows the enzyme that makes melanin, the pigment in skin, so in theory it lightens dark spots over time. The evidence is mostly for leave-on creams and gels at 1 to 2 percent, used for two to three months, mainly on melasma:
- In a 1996 comparison on opposite sides of patients’ faces, kojic acid did about as well as hydroquinone, the standard treatment, and irritated more.
- In a 2008 trial of 100 women, 58 percent improved after three months on a kojic acid cream, against 30 percent on 2 percent hydroquinone. It was a small single-centre study.
- We found no trial of kojic acid soap. A soap sits on the skin for seconds to a couple of minutes before it is rinsed off. Advice you may read to “leave the lather on for two minutes” comes from retailers’ blogs, not from studies.
The European safety committee (SCCS) concluded in 2022 that kojic acid is safe up to 1 percent in cosmetic skin-lightening products. Its earlier, 2021 draft had raised concerns about hormone effects before being reversed. Its opinion covers kojic acid only, not derivatives such as kojic dipalmitate, and none of the listings we read states how much kojic acid is in the soap.
The common side effect is irritation: redness, itching, burning and dryness. Kojic acid is also known as a skin sensitiser, which means it can trigger an allergy after repeated use, and reactions to 1 percent creams have been reported. That is why a patch test matters, and why a seller who tells you redness and tingling are “expected reactions” is giving you bad advice.
The real risks: hydroquinone, mercury and unnotified soaps
The danger in this category is less the kojic acid than what else may be in the bar. Hydroquinone and mercury are not allowed in cosmetics in the Philippines. Mercury is toxic, and the FDA has repeatedly warned against whitening products containing it (see our guide to mercury in whitening products).
A well-known brand is not a guarantee. In 2026 the FDA ordered recalls of two Kojiesan skin lightening products because they contained hydroquinone: a face cream (Advisory No. 2026-0160, February) and a cleanser and toner set (No. 2026-0699, July). The Kojiesan soaps themselves are notified and were not named, but the recalls show that a famous name does not replace checking.
A cosmetic soap must be notified with the FDA before it is sold. In practice many are not. Many of the advisories we found say “unauthorized” or “unnotified”, meaning the FDA could find no record of the product at all. Without a notification, no one has checked the label, the ingredient list or the maker.
Kojic acid or kojic dipalmitate? Read the ingredient list
- Kojic acid is the ingredient in the trials and the safety opinions. Look for “kojic acid” in the ingredient list.
- Kojic dipalmitate is a more stable derivative. It is gentler on paper, but its safety limits are not the same, and there is less evidence that it lightens skin.
- “Kojic” in the product name does not mean the bar contains either. Check the list. If there is no list, assume you cannot tell.
- Papaya, glutathione, niacinamide, arbutin are often added. Arbutin and papaya enzymes can also irritate.
What the claims on kojic soap listings actually mean
| Claim | What it covers | Key exclusion |
|---|---|---|
| NN- notification, verified for this exact product | The FDA has a record of this cosmetic and its maker | Not an approval, and it does not say the soap works |
| “FDA approved” | At best, that the product is notified | Cosmetics are notified, not approved |
| “No mercury / no hydroquinone” | What the seller says | No test or lab report is named in any listing we read |
| “Whitens in 7 days” | A promise | No evidence for any soap; skin colour changes over weeks and with sun protection |
| “Eliminates pimples” / “fades melasma” | A drug-style claim | Not allowed for a cosmetic |
| “Hypoallergenic” / “safe for all skin types” | Nothing specific | Kojic acid is a known skin sensitiser |
| “Redness and itching are expected” | A warning sign | Irritation is not a sign the product is working |
Kojic soaps we would not buy
These were for sale on Shopee when we checked, or are named in recent FDA advisories.
| Product | What we found | Our check |
|---|---|---|
| Maria Lourdes Heaven Soap (six kojic variants) | FDA Advisories No. 2026-1422, -1423, -1424, -1436, -1437 and -1438 (5 and 9 October 2026): unauthorized cosmetics. | Fails our advisory check |
| Watsons Love My Skin Kojic Acid & Niacinamide Cold-Pressed Soap | FDA Advisory No. 2026-0326 (April 2026): unauthorized cosmetic. Watsons is a major retailer, which shows even store-brand products need checking. | Fails our advisory check |
| Likas Papaya Skin Whitening Soap | FDA Advisory No. 2026-1047 (September 2026). | Fails our advisory check |
| “Kojic Original” acid soap, including hotel-cut packs | FDA Advisories No. 2026-0084 and 2024-1474 name “Kojic Original” soaps. | Check before buying |
| Love Skin Perfection, Pretty Jin, Pomme’ & Henn, Zannaya, Sazy Lady, Snow Fresh and others | More than a dozen FDA advisories on named kojic soaps in 2025 and 2026. | Fails our advisory check |
| Unbranded kojic “scrap soap”, sold by the kilo, and cut hotel bars | No label, brand or maker means nothing to check against the FDA record. Some listings say “FDA approved” with no product named. | No notification possible |
| Shantahl Pedro Kojic Brightening Bar | The product is notified, but the listing says it “whitens your skin within 7 days” and that redness, itching and tingling are “expected reactions”. | Dangerous advice |
| Rosmar Kagayaku Kojic Peeling Soap (older version) | FDA Advisory No. 2023-0848. Rosmar has since notified new versions, but other Rosmar soaps drew advisories in 2025. | Check the exact version |
Our picks
Best of a weak field
1. Skin Luxuriant Premium Kojic Soap with Collagen (135 g)
49/100
FDA notified
Brand’s own store
No FDA advisory found
₱0.67 per gram
| FDA status | Notified cosmetic, NN-1000016646521 (JMM Luxuriant Health and Beauty Products Trading, valid to August 2029) |
| FDA number in listing? | No. We found the exact product name on the FDA portal |
| Kojic ingredient | Not stated: no ingredient list, no kojic acid amount |
| Weight | 135 g in the description, 150 g in the specification |
| Seller | Skin Luxuriant Online Store (the brand’s own shop, six years on Shopee) |
| Price | ₱90 per bar (₱225 for three) |
Not a product we can recommend with confidence. It is the best we found because the basics check out: the exact product name is notified with the FDA, we found no advisory against the brand, and it is sold by the brand’s own store. The notification runs to 2029, so it is a recent one.
What it does not do is tell you anything about what is in it. There is no ingredient list and no kojic acid amount, so you cannot judge strength or check for ingredients you react to. It promises to “reduce pimple mark” and treat acne, and the “No Mercury, No Hydroquinone, No Harmful Ingredients” line is a promise with no test behind it. The weight is given as 135 g in one place and 150 g in another.
Why it scored well
- Exact product name notified, valid to 2029
- Sold by the brand’s own store
- Lowest price per gram of the three
Watch-outs
- No ingredient list and no kojic acid amount
- Acne and pimple-mark claims on a cosmetic
- “No mercury, no hydroquinone” with no test shown
Best on safe-use advice
2. Her Choice PH Kojic Papaya Intense Whitening Soap (120 g)
39/100
FDA notified
Contains kojic dipalmitate
Patch-test advice
₱1.10 per gram
| FDA status | Notified cosmetic: “Premium Kojic + Papaya Intense Whitening Soap”, NN-1000014135878 (Her ChoicePH Cosmetics and Skin Care Products Trading, valid to March 2027) |
| FDA number in listing? | No. We found the exact product name on the FDA portal |
| Kojic ingredient | Kojic dipalmitate (a derivative, not kojic acid), plus alpha arbutin, papaya, aloe, coconut oil |
| Weight | 120 g in the listing; the specification says 300 ml |
| Seller | RichHealthPH, a large multi-brand reseller |
| Price | ₱132 for one bar |
The only listing that gives real directions for using a skin-lightening soap safely: do a patch test 24 hours first, lather for no more than two to three minutes and rinse well. It also names its main ingredients, including kojic dipalmitate, a derivative of kojic acid. The European safety assessments of kojic acid explicitly do not cover derivatives, so what you read about kojic acid’s 1 percent limit does not apply to this bar.
The listing contradicts itself, though. The text lists papaya, arbutin and kojic dipalmitate; the specification panel lists AHA/BHA, niacinamide, azelaic acid and SPF; one says 120 g, the other 300 ml. It says the soap fades melasma, is “hypoallergenic” and “safe for all skin types”, none of which a seller can promise. And it suggests an “intensive bleaching bar” in the morning without telling you to wear sunscreen.
Why it scored well
- Patch-test advice and a limit on lathering time
- Names its main active ingredients
- Exact product name notified
Watch-outs
- Contains kojic dipalmitate, not kojic acid
- Ingredients and weight contradict the specification panel
- “Fades melasma”, “hypoallergenic”, “safe for all skin types”
Also considered
Beauche Kojic Soap, bundle of 3 (46/100 on our rubric). A long-running brand whose kojic soap is notified with the FDA (Papaya Kojic Soap, NN-1000016091422), sold here by a multi-brand reseller, with kojic acid named in the specification. We did not make it a pick because the brand has been named in FDA advisories: a 2021 warning on its gluta soap (later lifted after notification) and a 2020 warning on a different Beauche product, a clarifying solution that contained banned ingredients. The listing also says the bar “eliminates pimples, skin pigmentation, white heads and black heads” and gives no kojic acid amount.
Kojie San Skin Lightening Soap. The best-known kojic soap brand, and its soaps are notified with the FDA. We did not pick it because of the 2026 hydroquinone recalls of two of the brand’s other skin lightening products, and because the listing we read comes from a regular seller and describes the soap as “organic”, “hypoallergenic” and “non-chemical” and claims anti-aging and lifting effects.
How to choose, if you still want one
- Search the exact product name on the FDA portal and look for an NN- notification. Then search the brand for advisories.
- Read the ingredient list. You want kojic acid named, and no listing that hides the list.
- Buy from the brand’s own store, or a store that carries its products openly. Avoid unlabelled bulk soap.
- Patch test first: on the inside of your arm for 24 hours.
- Stop if your skin stings, burns or peels. That is irritation, not progress.
- Pregnant or breastfeeding, or have sensitive skin or eczema: ask your doctor first.
- Melasma, or dark spots that are changing: see a dermatologist. Spots that grow, change shape or bleed need checking.
How to use it, and what matters more than the soap
If you use it, lather briefly, rinse well and follow the directions on the label. Never leave it on longer than the seller says. Lightening ingredients make skin more sensitive to sun, and sun is the main thing that darkens spots. Sunscreen matters more than the soap: see our best sunscreen in the Philippines guide. Sun-protect first and treat the soap as optional.
How we researched this guide
We searched Shopee for kojic soap on October 11, 2026, checked more than a dozen brands against the FDA Philippines verification portal and its advisories, and read five listings in full. Each was scored with our published rubric. For kojic soap we defined the key disclosures as the kojic ingredient (acid or derivative), its amount and the full ingredient list. No listing gave the amount, so scores are low for every product. Price per gram uses each listing’s stated weight.
Evidence draws on the European Commission’s Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety opinions on kojic acid (2008, 2012, 2021 draft and 2022 final), published trials of kojic acid creams, and FDA Philippines advisories.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best kojic soap in the Philippines?
None scored above 49 out of 100. Skin Luxuriant Kojic Soap with Collagen was the best of a weak field: the exact product is notified with the FDA and sold by the brand's own store.
Does kojic acid soap really whiten skin?
Kojic acid can lighten dark spots in leave-on creams at 1 to 2 percent over months. We found no trial of kojic acid soap, which is rinsed off in a minute or two.
Is kojic acid safe?
The European safety committee concluded in 2022 that kojic acid is safe up to 1 percent in cosmetic lightening products. It can irritate and sensitise skin, so patch test and stop if your skin reacts.
What is kojic dipalmitate?
A derivative of kojic acid. The safety assessments of kojic acid do not cover it, and there is less evidence that it lightens skin.
How long should I leave kojic soap on my face?
Follow the label. Advice to leave it on for two minutes comes from retailer blogs, not studies, and longer contact raises the risk of irritation.
Are redness and tingling normal with kojic soap?
No. A listing that calls them "expected reactions" is giving bad advice. Stop using the soap if your skin stings, burns or peels.
How do I check if a kojic soap is FDA notified?
Search the exact product name on verification.fda.gov.ph for an NN- notification, then search the brand for advisories.
Why are there so many FDA advisories on kojic soap?
Many small makers sell soaps without notifying the FDA. We counted 177 advisories and notices mentioning kojic, many against unnotified soaps.
Can kojic soap contain hydroquinone or mercury?
Both are banned in cosmetics. The FDA has recalled Kojiesan face cream and a cleanser-toner set for hydroquinone in 2026, so check even known brands.
Is kojic soap safe during pregnancy?
Ask your doctor. We did not find clear guidance, and the safety assessments we reviewed do not address pregnancy.
Is "scrap" kojic soap sold by the kilo safe?
We would avoid it. It has no brand or label, so nothing can be checked against the FDA record.
Do I need sunscreen with kojic soap?
Yes. Sun is the main cause of dark spots, and lightening products can make skin more sensitive to it.