WellnessPicks is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission from Shopee, Lazada or TikTok Shop, at no extra cost to you. No brand pays to be featured or ranked. How we make money.
Our verdict
All five sweeteners we ranked are FDA-registered foods sold by official shops, but WHO advises against using non-sugar sweeteners to control weight. If you want a zero-calorie sweetener anyway, Splenda 1,000 packets (71/100, about ₱1.91 per packet) is the best documented and the cheapest per packet. Pure Via (67) is the stevia stick that lists its ingredients.
None of these listings proves a health benefit, and the diabetes and keto wording is the sellers’. This is general information, not medical advice.
We searched the Shopee affiliate offer list and Shopee search for zero-calorie, stevia, monk fruit, sucralose and allulose sweeteners on October 30, 2026, by brand and by store, and looked each one up in the FDA Philippines food registry and advisories. We ranked only registered sweeteners sold by an official or Mall shop.
₱1.91 to ₱4.90
Price per packet or stick across the four packet and stick products, our calculation from the listed price and count (Splenda 1,000 packets to Naturals 40 sticks).
| Best choiceBest valueSplenda 1,000 | Pure Via | NOTSUGAR Allulose | Equal Gold | Naturals Monk Fruit | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 71/100 | 67/100 | 67/100 | 65/100 | 65/100 |
| Our rating | |||||
| Best for | Bulk use; lowest cost per packet | A stevia stick with stated ingredients | A liquid for drinks | Most-reviewed stick | A sucralose-free stick |
| Sweetener stated | Not stated | Stevia extract and sucralose | Allulose | Erythritol and sucralose | Monk fruit extract and erythritol |
| Pack | 1,000 packets | 40 sticks | 490 ml | 50 sticks | 40 sticks |
| Price | ₱1,905 | ₱148 | ₱720 | ₱187 | ₱196 |
| Per packet or stick | ₱1.91 | ₱3.70 | n/a (₱1.47 per ml) | ₱3.74 | ₱4.90 |
| Sweetness vs sugar stated | No | 1 stick = 2 tsp sugar | No | 1 stick = 2 tsp sugar | 4 g = 1 tsp sugar |
| FDA record | FR-4000010736588, to Mar 2028 | FR-4000011055385, to Aug 2028 (close match) | FR-2334764, to Aug 2029 | FR-4000009612053, to Jun 2029 (close match) | FR-4000007701353, to Sep 2030 |
| Listing problem | No sweetener named; unsourced “doctors” claim | Printed FR number not found | “Zero calories” for allulose; 490 ml vs 500 g | Printed FR number not found; diabetes in title | Attribute says stevia; “100% natural” |
| Shop | S&R (official) | Equal Philippines (official) | Wonder Health (official) | Equal Philippines (official) | Equal Philippines (official) |
| Ratings on listing | 949 | 3,152 | 559 | 7,393 | 856 |
| Buy | ShopeeLazada | ShopeeLazada | ShopeeLazada | ShopeeLazada | ShopeeLazada |
What WHO says about non-sugar sweeteners
These points come from the World Health Organization news release WHO advises not to use non-sugar sweeteners for weight control (15 May 2023). General information, not medical advice.
- WHO recommends against using non-sugar sweeteners (NSS) to control body weight or reduce the risk of noncommunicable diseases. The recommendation is conditional.
- Its review found no long-term benefit for reducing body fat, and possible harms from long-term use, including an increased risk of type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and mortality in adults.
- NSS covers synthetic and naturally occurring or modified non-nutritive sweeteners, including acesulfame K, aspartame, sucralose and stevia.
- The guideline applies to all people except those with pre-existing diabetes. Sugar alcohols and low-calorie sugars are not covered, because they are sugars or sugar derivatives that contain calories.
- WHO Director for Nutrition and Food Safety Francesco Branca said that replacing free sugars with NSS does not help with weight control in the long term.
Among our picks, Pure Via (stevia and sucralose) and Equal Gold (erythritol and sucralose) contain sweeteners of the kind WHO lists as NSS. The Splenda listing does not say which sweetener it contains, and we did not check whether WHO’s list names monk fruit. Erythritol, a sugar alcohol, and allulose, a low-calorie sugar, are the kinds of sweetener WHO says its guideline does not cover. If you have diabetes, ask your doctor or dietitian which sweetener suits you.
Allulose: is it really zero calories?
The US FDA’s guidance on declaring allulose says manufacturers may use 0.4 calories per gram of allulose, instead of the 4 calories per gram used for other sugars, and may leave it out of the Total Sugars and Added Sugars lines. That is an enforcement-discretion position, not a formal rule, and it applies to US labels; we did not check Philippine labelling rules. So a “zero calorie” allulose syrup is a very low calorie one, not literally zero, and the NOTSUGAR listing gives no calorie figure to check.
What the claims on these listings actually mean
| Claim | What it covers | Key exclusion |
|---|---|---|
| “Zero calorie” | The label figure per serving | Allulose is counted at 0.4 kcal per gram in US guidance, so it is not literally zero |
| “Diabetic friendly” / “suitable for people with diabetes” | The seller’s wording (Equal Gold, Naturals) | No evidence or reviewer named; ask a doctor or dietitian |
| “Keto friendly”, “0 carbs” | Figures per serving on the maker’s label | Not shown on the listing |
| “Suitable for weight maintenance” | A claim on the Pure Via listing | WHO advises against non-sugar sweeteners for weight control |
| “Recommended brand by doctors and dietitians” | A statement on the Splenda listing | No doctor, dietitian or study is named |
| “100% natural” | Marketing wording on the Naturals listing | The product is a blend of monk fruit extract and erythritol |
| “Low GI” | A claim on the NOTSUGAR listing | No glycemic index figure shown |
Sweetener listings we would be careful with
| Product | What we found | Our check |
|---|---|---|
| Equal Classic 100 sticks (bundle with 12 free sticks) | From the same official shop and brand as three of our picks. The listing says “zero calorie sweetener” but does not name the sweetener inside or print a registration number. The brand’s Classic sweetener has registry records, but we preferred listings that state their ingredients. | Not scored: no ingredient or registration number on the listing |
| Unnamed “STEVIA Stevia Plant Extract Sweetener” | FDA Advisory 2025-1281 (25 October 2025) is a public health warning against this product as unregistered. Check the exact product name in the portal before buying any plain stevia sweetener. | Not scored: FDA advisory on the product name |
| SWEET BEST Allulose Blend Plant-Based Sugar Alternative | FDA Advisory 2022-2001 (3 January 2023) is a public health warning against this product as unregistered. A different SWEET BEST “Allulose Blend” later appeared in the registry, so check the number on the pack. | Not scored: advisory on this product |
| Loose, repacked or re-boxed sticks from regular shops | We saw sticks sold singly or in smaller repacks from regular shops, often without a registration number or the maker’s box. A reseller’s repack is not the registered product. | Not scored: repacked; cannot confirm contents |
| SweetLeaf, Pyure and Lakanto (Healthy Options Corporation) | These brands have FDA food registrations, but we did not score a Shopee listing for them in this round. | Not scored: registered brands, no listing reviewed |
Our picks
Best overall: exact registration, cheapest per packet, bulk size
1. Splenda Zero Calorie Sweetener, 1,000 packets (S&R Membership Shopping)
ShopeeLazada71/100
1,000 packets
FDA-registered (exact name)
Official S&R shop
About ₱1.91 per packet
| FDA status | Registered food: “ZERO CALORIE SWEETENER 1000 PACKETS”, brand Splenda, Federated Distributors Inc., FR-4000010736588 (valid to 2 March 2028). An older record for the same product, FR-4000008754589, is valid to 6 December 2026. No advisory found. |
| Specifications stated | Multi-pack of 1,000 pieces; “Product of USA”; “packaging may vary depending on the stock availability”; store sealed in a cool, dry place |
| Claims | “Recommended brand by doctors and dietitians”; “get the same sweet drink without worrying your sugar levels” |
| Not stated | Which sweetener is inside; an ingredient list; how sweet a packet is compared with sugar; calories per packet; a registration number |
| Seller | S&R Membership Shopping, an official Shopee shop since May 2019 (1.45M followers, 4.91 shop rating, 98% response). Listing 4.93 from 949 ratings. |
| Price | ₱1,905 for 1,000 packets, about ₱1.91 per packet (30 October 2026) |
Splenda ranks first because its registration name matches the listing exactly, it is sold by a large official store, and it is the cheapest per packet of the five. At about ₱1.91 a packet it costs roughly half of the stick sweeteners below.
The listing is the thinnest of the group: it never says which sweetener is inside or how sweet a packet is, and “recommended by doctors and dietitians” has no named source. A box of 1,000 is a lot for a household, so it suits an office, a café or a big family. Check the date on the box, because one of the two registration records ends in December 2026.
Why it scored well
- Exact registration name; official S&R shop
- Cheapest per packet
- Over 900 ratings
Watch-outs
- Listing never names the sweetener or gives an ingredient list
- “Recommended by doctors” has no source
- One registration record ends December 2026
Best stevia stick: ingredients and sweetness stated
2. Pure Via Stevia Zero Calorie Sweetener, 40 sticks (Equal Philippines)
ShopeeLazada67/100
40 sticks
Stevia plus sucralose
FDA-registered brand (close match)
About ₱3.70 per stick
| FDA status | Registered food: “STEVIA (STEVIOL GLYCOSIDES) SWEETENER”, brand Pure Via, Merisant Sweetener (Philippines), Inc., FR-4000011055385 (valid to 29 August 2028). The listing prints a different number, FR-4000002518569, which we could not find in the portal, so this is a close match by name and registrant. No advisory found. |
| Specifications stated | A blend of stevia leaf extracts and sucralose; 1 stick (0 kcal) = 2 teaspoons of sugar (32 kcal); heat tolerant for cooking and baking |
| Claims | “Zero calories, zero sugar, zero cholesterol, zero trans fat”; “suitable for weight maintenance”; “suitable for sugar intake control” |
| Not stated | Grams per stick; how much sucralose and how much stevia extract |
| Seller | Equal Philippines, an official Shopee shop since September 2018 (231K followers, 4.93 shop rating, 100% response). Listing 4.89 from 3,152 ratings. |
| Price | ₱148 for 40 sticks, about ₱3.70 per stick (30 October 2026) |
Pure Via is the stevia choice that tells you what it is: a blend of stevia extract and sucralose, with one stick said to equal two teaspoons of sugar and to be heat tolerant for baking. It is sold by the official shop of its maker’s sweetener family, with more than 3,000 ratings.
Because it contains sucralose as well as stevia, it is not a stevia-only product. The number printed on the listing does not match the registry record we found, so check the box. “Suitable for weight maintenance” is a seller claim, and WHO advises against using non-sugar sweeteners to control weight (see below).
Why it scored well
- Names both sweeteners
- Sweetness versus sugar stated
- Over 3,000 ratings
Watch-outs
- Printed FR number not found in the portal
- Contains sucralose, not only stevia
- Weight claim
Best liquid: exact registration, but “zero calories” is a label convention
3. Wonder Health NOTSUGAR Premium Liquid Allulose, 490 ml (Wonder Health)
ShopeeLazada67/100
490 ml syrup
Allulose only
FDA-registered (exact name)
About ₱1.47 per ml
| FDA status | Registered food: “ALLULOSE LIQUID”, brand NOTSUGAR, Wonder Health Food Ventures Corporation, FR-2334764 (valid to 15 August 2029). No advisory naming it found. |
| Specifications stated | Ingredient: allulose; country of origin Philippines; shelf life 24 months; expiry date 10/27/2027; halal; weight 500 g (title says 490 ml) |
| Claims | “Zero calories”; “low GI”; “keto and low carb friendly”; “no bitter aftertaste”; “gentle on digestion”; “without blood sugar spikes” |
| Not stated | Calories or carbohydrate per serving; how sweet it is compared with sugar; a serving size |
| Seller | Wonder Health, an official Shopee shop since May 2022 (8.4K followers, 4.92 shop rating, 100% response). Listing 4.89 from 559 ratings. |
| Price | ₱720 for 490 ml, about ₱1.47 per ml or ₱147 per 100 ml (30 October 2026) |
NOTSUGAR is the only liquid sweetener we could document, and its registration is an exact match with a local maker. It lists one ingredient, allulose, and gives a shelf life and an expiry date.
Allulose is a rare sugar rather than a non-sugar sweetener. FDA labelling guidance lets US makers count it at 0.4 kcal per gram instead of 4, so “zero calories” is a labelling convention, not literally zero (see below). The listing gives no calories, no serving size and no sweetness comparison, so price per ml cannot be compared with the stick prices above.
Why it scored well
- Exact registration; local maker
- Single stated ingredient
- Expiry date and shelf life shown
Watch-outs
- “Zero calories”, “low GI” and “gentle on digestion” without figures
- No serving size or sweetness comparison
- 490 ml in the title, 500 g in the attributes
Most reviewed: erythritol and sucralose; diabetes wording in the title
4. Equal Gold Zero Calorie Sweetener, 50 sticks (Equal Philippines)
ShopeeLazada65/100
50 sticks
Erythritol plus sucralose
FDA-registered brand (close match)
About ₱3.74 per stick
| FDA status | Equal Gold is registered by Merisant Sweetener (Philippines), Inc. as “NO CALORIE SWEETENER” (FR-4000009612053, valid to 26 June 2029) and “ZERO CALORIE SWEETENER” (FR-4000007951370, valid to 28 May 2028). The listing prints FR-4000000227872, which we could not find in the portal, so this is a close match. No advisory found. |
| Specifications stated | Sweetened with erythritol and sucralose; 1 stick = sweetness of 2 teaspoons of sugar; zero calories and 0 carbs per serving; gluten free; zero cholesterol, trans fat and sodium |
| Claims | “Diabetic friendly” (title); “suitable for people with diabetes”; “keto diet friendly”; “can be used just like sugar, even in baking” |
| Not stated | Grams per stick; the amount of each sweetener |
| Seller | Equal Philippines, an official Shopee shop since September 2018 (231K followers, 4.93 shop rating, 100% response). Listing 4.92 from 7,393 ratings. |
| Price | ₱187 for 50 sticks, about ₱3.74 per stick (30 October 2026) |
Equal Gold has by far the most ratings of any listing here (7,393) and states what is in it: erythritol and sucralose. One stick is said to match two teaspoons of sugar. The seller is the brand’s own official shop.
The title carries “Diabetic Friendly”, and the description says it is suitable for people with diabetes. Those are the seller’s words, not a finding we checked, so ask a doctor or dietitian if you have diabetes. The registration number printed on the listing did not match any record we retrieved, though the brand has two valid registrations.
Why it scored well
- Most reviewed of the five
- Both sweeteners named
- Official shop of the brand
Watch-outs
- Printed FR number not found in the portal
- Diabetes wording in the title
- No grams per stick
Monk fruit option: registered, but the listing contradicts itself
5. Naturals Monk Fruit Zero Calorie Sweetener, 40 sticks (Equal Philippines)
ShopeeLazada65/100
40 sticks
Monk fruit plus erythritol
FDA-registered
About ₱4.90 per stick
| FDA status | Registered food: “MONK FRUIT NATURAL SUGAR REPLACEMENT”, brand Naturals, Merisant Sweetener (Philippines), Inc., FR-4000007701353 (valid to 19 September 2030) and FR-4000007819159 (valid to 7 May 2031). The portal does not show which record covers the stick pack. No advisory found. |
| Specifications stated | Made with monk fruit extract and erythritol, a sugar alcohol from non-GMO corn; 1 teaspoon (4 g) has the sweetness of 1 teaspoon of sugar; vegan, non-GMO, no preservatives, gluten-free |
| Claims | “100% natural sugar replacement”; “zero calories, trans fat, sodium and carbs per serving”; “ideal for people with diabetes and those looking for keto-diet-friendly options” |
| Inconsistencies | The Shopee attribute says “Sweetener Type=Stevia”, but the product is monk fruit and erythritol. “100% natural” sits beside a blended, processed sweetener. The weight of a stick is not stated. |
| Seller | Equal Philippines, an official Shopee shop since September 2018 (231K followers, 4.93 shop rating, 100% response). Listing 4.81 from 856 ratings. |
| Price | ₱196 for 40 sticks, about ₱4.90 per stick (30 October 2026) |
Naturals is the only non-stevia, non-sucralose pick: monk fruit extract blended with erythritol. The registration name matches the listing’s own description, and the shop is official.
It is the most expensive per stick (₱4.90) and has the fewest ratings of the stick sweeteners. The category attribute says stevia although the product is monk fruit, so the listing was not carefully checked. “100% natural” is marketing wording, not a standard.
Why it scored well
- Avoids sucralose
- Name matches the registry
- Sweetness versus sugar given by weight
Watch-outs
- Attribute says stevia, product is monk fruit
- Highest price per stick
- Stick weight not stated
How to choose a zero-calorie sweetener
- Decide first whether you need one. WHO advises against using non-sugar sweeteners to control weight; if you have diabetes, ask your doctor or dietitian.
- Read the ingredients on the pack. “Stevia” sticks can also contain sucralose or erythritol (Pure Via lists sucralose; Equal Gold and Naturals list erythritol).
- Compare price per packet or stick, then check how sweet one is: Pure Via and Equal Gold state 1 stick = 2 teaspoons of sugar. From about ₱1.91 (Splenda) to ₱4.90 (Naturals) on 30 October 2026.
- Look up the exact product in the FDA verification portal and check the validity date and advisories.
- Buy from the brand’s official shop or an official store. Skip loose, repacked sticks and unbranded “stevia” powders.
- Do not treat “zero calories” as exact: allulose is counted at 0.4 kcal per gram in US guidance.
- Check the date on the box when it arrives; one Splenda registration record ends in December 2026.
How we researched this guide
We searched the Shopee affiliate offer list for zero calorie sweetener, stevia sweetener and monk fruit sweetener on October 30, 2026, then searched Shopee by keyword and by brand and read the main listings in full. We looked each brand up in the food registry and advisories of the FDA Philippines verification portal. We scored products with our published rubric: provenance and registration (25), disclosure (20), claims (20), consistency (10), seller record (15) and value (10). We did not taste or test any product.
Only registered sweeteners from official shops were ranked. The WHO and FDA points are general information, not medical advice. This guide has not yet been reviewed by our health content reviewer, and we have not checked the Shopee affiliate programme’s rules for this category.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best zero-calorie sweetener in the Philippines?
Of the five registered sweeteners we ranked, Splenda 1,000 packets scored highest (71/100) and is the cheapest per packet at about ₱1.91. Pure Via (67) is the stevia stick that lists its ingredients.
Is stevia the same as sucralose?
No. Stevia is a plant extract and sucralose is a different sweetener. Pure Via contains both, according to its listing, so a "stevia" stick is not always stevia only.
Is Equal Gold safe for people with diabetes?
The listing says it is suitable for people with diabetes, but that is the seller's wording. WHO's guideline on non-sugar sweeteners does not apply to people with pre-existing diabetes. Ask your doctor or dietitian.
Does WHO recommend zero-calorie sweeteners for weight loss?
No. WHO recommends against using non-sugar sweeteners to control body weight, conditionally, because its review found no long-term benefit for reducing body fat.
Is allulose really zero calories?
US FDA guidance lets makers count allulose at 0.4 calories per gram, instead of 4 for other sugars. So it is very low in calories rather than literally zero.
Which sweetener is cheapest per serving?
Splenda at about ₱1.91 per packet, then Pure Via at about ₱3.70, Equal Gold at about ₱3.74 and Naturals at about ₱4.90 per stick (30 October 2026). NOTSUGAR is a liquid at about ₱1.47 per ml.
Is monk fruit sweetener only monk fruit?
The Naturals listing says it is monk fruit extract blended with erythritol, a sugar alcohol.
Why does Equal Gold show a different FR number on Shopee?
The listing prints FR-4000000227872, which we could not find in the portal. The brand has two other valid registrations, so we scored it as a close match. Check the number on the box.
Are Splenda, Equal and Pure Via FDA registered?
Yes, by name: the portal has records for Splenda (Federated Distributors) and for Equal Gold and Pure Via (Merisant Sweetener Philippines). Splenda, NOTSUGAR and Naturals matched their listings by name; Equal Gold and Pure Via did not match the printed number.
Can I use these for baking?
The Pure Via listing says it is heat tolerant for cooking and baking, and the Equal Gold and Naturals listings say they can be used like sugar in baking. We did not test any of them.
How do I know a sweetener is FDA registered?
Search the exact product name in the FDA verification portal and check the validity date. Also check the FDA advisories, which have named unregistered stevia and allulose sweeteners.
Did you test these sweeteners?
No. We read the listings, checked the shops and the FDA registry, and scored what the sellers put in writing.
How did this guide leave you?
Tap one. It takes a second and helps other readers.
Spotted a problem with a product or link?
Know a product we should look at?Suggest one for this guide. We read every suggestion. + Suggest a product
Sending a suggestion does not guarantee a review or a ranking, and nobody can pay for placement. Anything we add is scored with our published rubric.
